Ideas

I am currently having some fancy ideas about various topics that I can dive in. The bad news is I have too little time for them right now, so although I intended to start very soon, but I’m not sure when I can really dig into these messes.

These ideas are very straightforward:

1. Security in Cloud computing, data mining/querying on encrypted databases and practical facts.

This idea came to me in the RIVF conference last month. The general consideration is how can we trust the Cloud service provider (i.e. Windows Azure, Amazon Web Service…) that they will not steal our data, how much our data is secured? When we performing queries, how can we know if the provider is faithful enough?

One of possible solutions is encrypting the data before sending it to the provider. The problem hence raise, since how could we do data mining, query “our” encrypted data which are stored on provider’s infrastructure?

This is really a hard (and interesting!) problem, and it draws many attentions from academic scholars. It is pretty useful to apply the academic idea on commercial service like Windows Azure or AWS…

2. The second idea comes from my experiences on GPU computing with CUDA.

DirectCompute has been announced in PDC 2009, and it seems promising in cross-platform GPU computing. Nonetheless, the documentation of DirectCompute seems to be lacking (even on MSDN DirectX). I want to dig into DirectCompute, perform some benchmarks to check it performance, and then comparing with CUDA or OpenCL. I believe this will point out some interesting conclusions.

So if one of the readers of this blog would like to investigate to these problems, please contact me. I’m not sure this will lead to anywhere, but at least it can help you improving some skills 😉

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

